Emotional Time

I recently was ridiculed on the internet for not liking somebody’s poem. Apparently there is nothing worse you can say to a person than that you honestly think something they wrote is not as good as they think it is. I suppose I was wrong. I suppose I was too cruel. I could’ve said something more positive, but I get the feeling that even then I would be offending people. I’m just too honest with people. One of two things obviously needs to change in the grand scheme of things. Either people need to stop being so sensitive about their poetry or I need to have a change of heart. As my victim says, I just “don’t understand the depths of emotions.” Well this my time to change. My time to be emotional for once in my life. I need to put my overactive imagination and astounding intellect on the back burner and allow my emotions alone to guide me through my writing. Please bear with me as I get in touch with my emotions.

Confused

I am very confused
I am not in a foul mood today
In fact i feel brilliant
like a light is glowing
and that light is bright
it is inside my heart
it is burning my insides
killing me slowly
not really
none of that is true
yet it is very emotional
i am confused

 

Well that’s it. That was my attempt to get in touch with my emotions. I’m not quite sure how I feel about being emotional. It seems silly. Add a comment if you will and have a nice day.

17 thoughts on “Emotional Time”

  1. I wouldn’t worry about it Bro, People get far too up tight about things, trust me I’m british we are the worst for it… Maybe not as much as the muslims and their faceless prophet but meh… What can you do… Chin up, your poetry is great… your blogs always entertain me… and i think your heading in the right direction to become one of the best at both 🙂 Keep them coming 🙂

  2. I think you have a flair for satire. 🙂 But you already knew I knew that. By the way, I found the their that shouldn’t have been there. Well, actually it should have been there, just not their. Oh never mind. Where should I send editorial corrections? Your email?

  3. I see your point, I have been called a naked poet before I don’t write to much about emotion but it does seem to super charge some of my writing. It is a thought provoking post you have presented

  4. There’s nothing wrong with saying you don’t like something; just try to say it with tact.

    Have you heard of a praise sandwich?

    Say something nice (but true).
    Say something critical (in a nice way).
    Say something nice (but true).

    If people feel they’re being attacked, they attack back. If they feel you are being honest but fair, they are more likely to accept it.

    Try using words/phrases like maybe/I suggest/is it possible?/don’t you think?/would you agree?

    Your attacker could have responded in two ways:

    ‘I despise your habit of being critical of my poetry. Get lost. What do you know, anyway?’

    I appreciate your right to despise my poetry, but I would feel more receptive of your criticism if you gave me specific examples of what does and does not work.’

    Which one would lead to a dialogue?

  5. One of the things every writer has to learn i to take criticism. If people can’t hear the truth, how can they speak the truth? And if they don’t speak the truth, how can they possibly say anything authentic? And if they’re not authentic, then I don’t want to read them because it will be all lies.

    Anyway, just wanted to say that. Keep being honest. If people can’t handle it, that’s their problem.

    1. I don’t know how clear it is. But this particular poem is not intended to be “genius” exactly. It’s more satirical in nature, if you know what I mean. And if you don’t know what I mean, I apologize because you just wasted some of your time reading something that to you amounts to nothing but pure gibberish.

      1. I definitely saw it as satire, and humorous in the quality of the satire. Certainly did not amount to gibberish.

        Some genius activity is not intentional.

Got something to say?

