Get By The Program, with Micah

Hello folks. Sorry I haven’t been here for quite a bit. Haven’t been feeling quite well. But I’m back and ready for us to start some discussion. Today I’m going to share by you a short poem I just came up with. It is below.

Walk by me
with the park
tis better than walking by alone
lets skip by one another
by people watching us
with the river
we will sing by each other
and the birds shall sing by us
with the end of the day
everything will be okay
walk by me

The idea came to me earlier when my grandmother told my brother “Don’t get hit with a car.” That didn’t sound quite right to me.  And it lead to a discussion with my brother Jo about the difference between “with and by”. Needless to say (I know. Why am I saying it then?) , the English language is an odd one. And we commonly don’t think about how something so simple could change the meaning of a sentence entirely.

I’m not sure how I feel about this one. But they same a writer is a great critic… or something like that. Anyway, I think it’s interesting and would like to know what you guys think. I’m always trying to improve. I’m already so great. So anything you can say is helpful (probably). But if you can’t, I still appreciate your reading anyway. It is my wish that this blog can grow and prosper one of these days. But in the meantime, I need to get writing. I’ve been coming up with some great character ideas for stories. But putting them into a certain situation is a whole different monster. Writing is a science in that sort of way. All we can do is experiment and see what happens. With that thought in mind, I’ll be seeing you later.

6 thoughts on “Get By The Program, with Micah”

  1. This is very clever. It took me after reading the poem to get the title of the post! 🙂 Where did you get your smart genes from?

    And by the way, I love the idea of experimenting with a linguistic problem by playing with it in a poem. This is a great way to work out such problems. Billy Collins is good at it too, but this is at least as clever as E. E. Cummings in my mind. And I don’t think I’m being biased. Presenting the question of word choice in this way makes one think, and bends the brain in the process as it implies new and double meanings. For instance, I love the idea of the birds actually singing by us, rather than with us. I imagine the birds flying along beside you in the park singing right beside your head, “by” you!” Delightful. Well done, young Padiwan.

  2. It’s also wonderful, the idea of skipping by, skipping past each other with the river, meaning that it too is skipping along rather than simply flowing. See, I like this more and more every time I read it.

  3. I agree with sonofwalt! This was incredibly clever! It’s amazing how interchanging two tiny word can change the entire meaning of a sentence or poem. I loved your poem and the imagery it provoked. And kudus to you for getting an E.E. Cummings comparison. Well deserved, in my humble opinion…

  4. Pingback: The Dad Poet

Got something to say?

